NCF SfN Chapter Conference 2014

Thank you to everyone who attended the 2015 North Central Florida Society for Neuroscience Chapter Conference!  We had a lot of fun and hope everyone learned something at our wonderful poster session, panel, data blitz, and lectures.


Undergraduate Winners

First Place: Paran Davari

Methamphetamine and amphetamine differentially influence biophysical properties of dopamine transporter.

Paran Davari

Second Place: Lauren Vetere

Age-related alterations in executive functions and cost-benefit decision making.


Lauren Vetere

Third Place: Leslie Gaynor

Perceptual discrimination deficits underlying age-related cognitive impairment.

Leslie Gaynor


Graduate Winners

First Place: Jeff Fortin

Transplantation of defined populations of differentiated human neural stem cell progeny.

 Jeff Fortin

Second Place: Lei Wang

Increasing angiotensin converting enzyme 2 activity in the brain decreases anxiety and dampens activation of
the hypothalami-pituitary-adrenal axis in mice.

 Lei Wang

Third Place: Sofia Beas

Prefrontal cortical GABA(B) and NMDA receptor interactions in working memory.

 Sofia Beas


Postdoc Winner

First Place: Xiaoli Qi

Overexpression of CRF in the central amygdala
diminishesthe depressive-like state associated with
nicotine withdrawal.

 Xiaoli Qi Postdoc Bruijnzeel

Congratulations to the winners of the poster competition!

Thank you to all of our Data Blitz participants, who took on the challenge to present their research in five minutes or less.

Data Blitz Presenters

L to R: Dr. Lan Hoang-Minh, Preston Donaldson, Kailey Simpson, Dr. Mauro Pinto, NCF SfN President Kim Hawkins, Regina Martuscello, Nicole Little, Douglas Bennion, and Danielle Sambo