Menu UF Health Home Menu
 

Faculty

A | B | C | D | E| F| G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
 

Faculty

Research Focus

Key Words

Ayers, Jacob Jacob Ayers, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
jayers.123ja@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Jennifer Bizon, Ph.D. Jennifer L. Bizon, Ph.D.
Professor
bizonj@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss Aging, Memory, Executive Function, Plasticity

Stephen J. Blackband, Ph.D.
Professor
sblackba@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Fundamental Neuroscience
Neuroimaging, MR Imaging, MR Microscopy,
High Magnetic Fields, Cellular MR Imaging

Borchelt portriat

David R. Borchelt, Ph.D.
Professor
drb1@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Alzheimer’s Disease, Huntington’s Disease,
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis,
Neurodegeneration, Protein Misfolding
Burke, Sara Sara N. Burke, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
burkes@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Fundamental Neuroscience
Aging, Entorhinal Cortex, Hippocampus, Memory,
Neurophysiology, Perirhinal Cortex

Eduardo Candelario-Jalil

Eduardo Candelario-Jalil, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
ecandelario@ufl.edu
Neurodegeneration
Traumatic Injury
Ischemic Stroke, Neuroinflammation,
Blood-Brain Barrier,Matrix Metalloproteinases,
Cerebral Ischemia, Neurovascular Injury

Paramita

Paramita Chakrabarty, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
pchakrabarty@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Neuroinflammation, Alzheimer’s disease,
Parkinson’s disease, Amyloid β, APP; Tau;
Synuclein; Cytokine, Selective Neurodegeneration,
Innate Immune Response, Microglia, Transgenic Mice
 Jeremy Flint Jeremy Flint, Ph.D.
Assistant Scientist
jer1984@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Fundamental Neuroscience
Neuroimaging, MR Imaging, MR Microscopy,
High Magnetic Fields, Cellular MR Imaging
Foster Tom Thomas C. Foster, Ph.D.
Professor
foster1@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Fundamental Neuroscience
Memory, Aging, Synaptic Plasticity, Gene
Regulation
gallego-iradi-maria-carolina_rev Maria Carolina Gallego-Iradi, Ph.D.
Assistant Scientist
mc.gallego.iradi@ufl.edu
Neurodegeneration

Benoit Giasson

Benoit Giasson, Ph.D.
Professor
bgiasson@ufl.edu
Neurodegeneration Parkinson’s disease, Neuronal Damage,
Protein Aggregation, Kinases, Alpha-synuclein,
Tau

Golde Todd

Todd E. Golde, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor
tgolde@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Alzheimer ’s disease, Amyloid β protein,
Neurodegeneration, Neuroinflammation,
Therapeutics, Intramembrane proteolysis,
Somatic Brian Transgenesis

Heaton Marieta

Marieta B. Heaton, Ph.D.
Professor
heaton@ufl.edu
Addiction
Fundamental Neuroscience
Developmental Neurobiology, Fetal Alcohol
Syndrome, Apoptosis, Ethanol Neurotoxicity

Janus Chris

Christopher G. Janus, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
cjanus@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Dementia in Neurodegenerative Diseases,
Alzheimer’s disease, Mouse Models of
Neurodegenerative diseases, Learning and
Memory, Spatial navigation, Behavioral plasticity,
Amyloid beta, Tau
Habibeh Khoshbouei Habibeh Khoshbouei, Ph.D., Pharm.D.
Associate Professor
habibeh@ufl.edu
Addiction
Neurodegeneration
Fundamental Neuroscience
Neural mechanisms of addiction, Methamphetamine
and related drugs, Dopamine transporters,
Psychostimulant, Neurotransmission,Cellular
neuroscience, Alpha-synuclein, Cellular mechanism
of Parkinson’s-like pathologies

Kumar-Ashok-5572

Ashok Kumar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kash@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Fundamental Neuroscience
Aging, Calcium, Hippocampus, Learning, Memory,
Synaptic Plasticity, Cell excitability, Exercise,
Environmental enrichment

Levites Yona

Yona Levites, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
levites.yona@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Immunotherapy, Adeno-associated virus, Amyloid,
Alzheimer’s disease, Spinal cord neurodegeneration,
Neuronal death
Jada Lewis, Ph.D.
Professor
jada.lewis@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Fundamental Neuroscience
Modeling & Therapeutic Trials for Neurodegenerative
Diseases, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s Diseases,
Frontotemporal Dementia, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Lin, Min Min Lin, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
mz@ufl.edu
Addiction
Neurodegeneration
Fundamental Neuroscience
Neural mechanisms of addiction, Methamphetamine
and related drugs, Dopamine transporters,
Psychostimulant, Neurotransmission, Cellular
neuroscience, Alpha-synuclein, Cellular mechanism
of Parkinson’s-like pathologies
Ronald J. Mandel, Ph.D.
Professor
rmandel@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss Gene Therapy, Neurological Disorders, Parkinson’s Disease,
Huntington’s Disease, Dystonia
maurer.1 Andrew P. Maurer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
drewmaurer@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Fundamental Neuroscience
Aging, Entorhinal Cortex, Hippocampus, Memory,
Neurophysiology, Perirhinal Cortex
 McIntyre, Jeremy Jeremy C. McIntyre, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
jmcin@ufl.edu
Olfaction, Anosmia, Channelopathy, Gene therapy,
Neuronal cilia, neuromodulation, G-protein Coupled
Receptors
Moroz, Leonid Leonid L. Moroz, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
moroz@whitney.ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Fundamental Neuroscience
Genome, Human Genomics & Epigenomics,
Neurogenomics, Epigenomics, Memory, Aging, Cellular
Bases of Behavior, Nervous System Evolution, Next
Generation Sequencing, Genomic Bases of Neuronal
Identity and Plasticity, Single-cell genomics, Epilepsy, Bioinformatics

Nick Harry_2

Harry Nick, Ph.D.
Professor
hnick@ufl.edu
Fundamental Neuroscience
Traumatic Injury
Gene Regulation, Inflammatory Response, Free
Radicals, Antioxidant Enzymes, Eicosanoid Metabolism

Lucia Notterpek

Lucia Notterpek, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
notterpek@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Fundamental Neuroscience
Peripheral neuropathies, Schwann cells, Myelin,
Demyelinating disorders,Autophagy, Chaperones
Ran, Yong Yong Ran, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Scientist
yran@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Gamma-secretase, Signal Peptide Peptidase,
Intramembrane Proteolysis
Reier-Paul_44221 Paul Reier, Ph.D.
Professor & Eminent Scholar
reier@ufl.edu
Neurodegeneration
Traumatic Injury
Spinal Cord Injury, Respiratory Neuroplasticity,
Pharmacological Modulation

ritz_louis1

Louis Ritz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
lritz@ufl.edu
Fundamental Neuroscience

Sarkisian Matt

Matthew Sarkisian, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
msarkisian@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Fundamental Neuroscience
Neurodevelopment, Cortical Malformation,
in utero Gene Transfer, Cilia, Brain Tumors
Sue Semple-Rowland Sue Semple-Rowland, Ph.D.
Professor
rowland@ufl.edu
Neurodegeneration
Fundamental Neuroscience
Retinal Photoreceptors, Circadian Clock, Light
Entrainment, Phototransduction, Gene Expression,
Lentiviral Vector, Gene Delivery
Wolfgang Streit Wolfgang Jake Streit, Ph.D.
Professor
pschorr@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Fundamental Neuroscience
Traumatic Injury
Microglial Cells, Experimental Neuropathology,
Neuroimmunology, Neuroinflammation,
Alzheimer’s disease
Xu Guilian Guilian Xu, Ph.D.
Assistant Scientist
xugl@ufl.edu
Aging & Memory Loss
Neurodegeneration
Neurodegenerative disease, Alzheimer’s
disease, Huntington disease, ALS, Transgenic
Mouse, Proteomics